Carper, Kaufman Highlight Stimulus Effect on Police Hiring

by Dave on August 24, 2010

Today, U.S. Senators Tom Carper and Ted Kaufman (both D-Del.) held a press conference to announce the conclusion of the hiring process of 24 police officers throughout Delaware that were funded through the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act (ARRA). Nine Delaware police departments received over $5 million to fund the 24 officers through the Community Oriented Policing Services (COPS) Hiring Recovery Program for three years.

Nationally, the COPS Program provided a total of $1 billion to hire and retain police officers. Delaware had almost a third of its applications funded, beating the national average of a 14% funding rate.

“I often say that federal investment in local law enforcement is ‘a two-fer’ – not only does it keep our families safe, it creates good-paying jobs for quality public servants at the same time,” said Senator Kaufman. “But these jobs that we helped save and the new jobs created through the COPS program are not just jobs that keep unemployment numbers from rising. Our police officers are critically important members of our local communities, because the safety of our families and loved ones depends on them.”

“It is a great day when we can announce that 24 new police officers have joined Delaware’s law enforcement community in helping to keep Delaware safe,” said Senator Carper. “Today is another example of real money from the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act coming to Delaware to put people to work and help reduce crime. To these new officers and those that protect us every day, thank you for your commitment and dedication to keeping Delaware safe.”

Also in attendance were representatives from agencies across the state that received COPS Program funding, including Chief Michael Szczerba, Wilmington Police Department, Chief Norman R. Barlow, Harrington Police Department, Captain Wilbert Bordley, Smyrna Police Department, Chief W. Scott Collins, Selbyville Police Department, Chief Glenn S. Condon, Cheswold Police Department, Chief James E. Hosfelt Jr., Dover Police Department and Chief Henry V. Tobin, Middletown Police Department. Georgetown Police Department also received program funding.

press release from Senators Kaufman and Carper

Comments on this entry are closed.

[CoastalSussex] on Twitter[Coastal Sussex] on Facebook[Our] RSS Feed[Our] Email