Sussex County Property Taxes Due Sept. 30

by Dave on September 16, 2010

The deadline for Sussex County property owners to pay their 2010 taxes is only a few days away.

Sussex County reminds property owners that Thursday, Sept. 30, 2010, is the deadline to pay annual County tax bills. Payments received after that will be subject to a 1.5 percent penalty. Payments sent by mail must be postmarked no later than Sept. 30.

This summer, the County’s Treasury Division issued more than 168,500 annual tax bills totaling an estimated $101 million. The bills include County property taxes, as well as County sewer and water, tax ditch and street lighting fees, where applicable.

Additionally, tax statements include local school district taxes, which are collected by the County, but turned over to the State of Delaware. Delaware law requires Sussex County to bill property owners for school taxes on behalf of the eight public school districts within the county.

Sussex County accepts tax payments by cash, check, money order or credit card. Taxpayers have different options to make their payments and check their tax status. These include:


Many taxpayers do not receive a paper statement, and instead have their annual taxes paid out of an escrow account by their mortgage lenders. If these taxpayers have any questions regarding the status of their escrow accounts or tax payment, they should contact their lenders. Property owners also can contact the Sussex County tax office at (302) 855-7760 or check payment status online at


Payment can be made on the Internet, with the use of most major credit cards or by check. Go to and select “Make a Payment” on the left side for more information.


Property owners can mail their tax payments using the return envelopes included in their paper statements. Bills should be addressed to the Sussex County Treasury Division, PO Box 429, Georgetown, DE 19947. All payments sent by mail must be postmarked by Sept. 30 to avoid the 1.5 percent penalty, per month, on unpaid balances.


The County’s tax office is open weekdays from 8:30 a.m. until 4:30 p.m. The office is located on the second floor, Room 252, of the County Administrative Offices building, 2 The Circle, in Georgetown. For more information, call (302) 855-7760.

release from Sussex County Government

Comments on this entry are closed.

[CoastalSussex] on Twitter[Coastal Sussex] on Facebook[Our] RSS Feed[Our] Email